University Outreach and Engagement Awards

University Outreach and Engagement Awards

Ohio State's University Outreach and Engagement Awards honor faculty, staff, students and community partners for outstanding achievement in producing engaged scholarship and community impact.

Learn more about the 2020 University Outreach and Engagement Award recipients!

Click on the award names below to find out more information about each award.

The Community Engaged Program Award recognizes outstanding achievement by faculty, staff and/or student led programs/initiatives focused on community-university partnerships and impact.

Up to five awards will be given. Award amount: $1,000

The Community Engaged Scholar Award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated engaged scholarship that has impacted communities. Community Engaged Scholars have made significant contribution to Ohio State's culture of engagement, further establishing and strengthening the institution's commitment to supporting communities.

Up to three scholars will be recognized. Self-nominations will be accepted. Award amount: $1,000

The Community Partner Award is presented to a community agency/group/institution that demonstrates collaborative work with university faculty, students and staff, resulting in a partnership that produces positive impact in the community and at Ohio State. Nominations can come from faculty, staff, students and community organizations.

One recipient will be selected. Award amount: $1,000

National Awards

Peter Magrath Award for Community Engagement

The Peter Magrath Award for Community Engagement provides national recognition for the outstanding community-university engagement work of public universities. It is presented by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) at the annual meeting in November. National award winners receive a cash prize of $20,000.

Engagement Scholarship Consortium Awards

The Engagement Scholarship Consortium's Awards Program recognizes higher education institutions and their exemplary contributions to scholarship and the practice of engaged scholarship.

Regional Awards

The Engagement Scholarship Consortium recognizes regional winners of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Engagement Scholarship Awards at the Engagement Scholarship Consortium Conference every October. Regional winners receive $5,000 and are considered for the national award. Each university may submit one nominee for the regional award.

The Kellogg Awards program also recognizes "Exemplary Projects" that were not chosen as award recipients.