University Engagement Recognition Awards

On behalf of The Ohio State University, the offices of Outreach and Engagement, International Affairs, Service-Learning, Student Life and Undergraduate Education recognize faculty, staff, students and community partners for outstanding achievement with the University Engagement Recognition Awards program.

Awards are given annually to the top partnerships in the International Engagement, Community Engagement and Service-Learning categories. Awards for staff, students, student groups and community partners are also given annually. Below you will find more detailed information about the awards for each category. A total of $17,500 will be awarded across all categories. We wish to recognize outstanding campus achievements in the fields of engagement and service.

All Ohio State faculty, staff and students are invited to apply.

The deadline to submit an application/nomination for 2018 was February 28.

2018 Awards Ceremony - May 2

Ohio State’s Engagement Recognition Awards Ceremony will take place on May 2 from 10:30-11:30 a.m. in the Ohio Union, U.S. Bank Conference Theater. Awards will be given in the community engagement, international engagement, service-learning, staff, student, student group and community partner categories. The event is free and open to the public. Faculty, staff, students and community partners are invited to attend. RSVP requested at

For more information, email

Recognition Awards Overview and Criteria

Below is a list of the annual University Engagement Recognition Award categories with criteria for each award:

Distinguished Community Engagement Award ($3,000)

Emerging Community Engagement Award ($1,000)

Distinguished International Engagement Award ($3,000)

Emerging International Engagement Award ($1,000)

Distinguished Service-Learning Award ($3,000)

Emerging Service-Learning Award ($1,000)

Staff Award for Excellence in Community Service Engagement ($500)

Undergraduate Student Award for Excellence in Community Service ($500)

Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Community Service ($500)

Professional Student Award for Excellence in Community Service ($500)

Student Group Award for Excellence in Community Service Programming ($500)

Excellence in Community Partnership Award ($3,000)

National Award

The C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Scholarship Award is a national award that recognizes outstanding outreach and engagement partnerships between universities and community partners. It is presented by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) at the annual meeting in November. National award winners receive a cash prize of $20,000. See the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) web site for details on the award applications.

Ohio State's Young Scholars Program was selected as the 2013 C. Peter Magrath University Community Engagement Award winner (note the award name changed in 2015).

Regional Awards

The Engagement Scholarship Consortium recognizes regional winners of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Engagement Scholarship Awards at the Engagement Scholarship Consortium Conference every October. Regional winners receive $5,000 and are considered for the national award. Each university may submit one nominee for the regional award.

Ohio State's Young Scholars Program was selected as the 2013 North Central region winner.

Ohio State's Comprehensive Approach to Urban Revitalization was selected as the 2008 North Central Region Winner.

Ohio State’s Engaged Partners was selected as the 2007 North Central regional winner.

Past Award Recipients

2017 Awards

2016 Awards

2015 Awards

2014 Awards

2013 Awards

2012 Awards

2011 Awards

2010 Awards

2009 Awards

2008 Awards

2007 Awards