Who's Who in Black Columbus Honors Ohio State Faculty, Staff and Students

Nearly 60 Ohio State faculty, staff and students were among those recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in the 12th edition of Who’s Who in Black Columbus. Board of Trustees member Clark Kellogg wrote the foreword for this year’s publication. The cover unveiling ceremony took place in the Archie Griffin Ballroom at the Ohio Union on July 29. President Michael V. Drake and his wife Brenda Jackson Drake attended the ceremony, where President Drake welcomed the audience to Ohio State. Prior to the ceremony, many of the faculty, staff and students in this year’s publication gathered for a reception. Congratulations to all of our representatives! (Photos by Ira Graham)

Clack Kellogg, Javaune Adams-Gaston, Valerie Lee, Brenda Drake and Michael Drake.

Ohio State Honorees

Faculty and Staff

OSU faculty and staff Who's Who honorees

  • Michael V. Drake, MD, President
  • Javaune Adams-Gatson, PhD, Vice President for Student Life
  • Leslie Alexander, PhD, Associate Professor, African American and African Studies
  • Doug Archie, Associate Athletics Director for Compliance
  • Vernon Baisden, Assistant Vice President/Director of Public Safety
  • Trudy Bartley, Assistant Vice President, Government Affairs
  • Canise Bean, DMD, Associate Professor, Dentistry
  • Jamaal R. Bell, Director of Strategic Communications, Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity
  • Quinn Capers IV, MD, Associate Dean, Medicine
  • Almeta E. Cooper, JD, Associate Vice President, Wexner Medical Center
  • Sharon Davies, JD, John C. Elam/Vorys Sater Professor of Law/Director, Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity
  • Archie Griffin, Senior Vice President, Alumni Relations/President and CEO, The Ohio State University Alumni Association
  • David E. Harrison, Director of Diversity and Inclusion Student Services, Fisher College of Business
  • Dorian L Harriston, Senior Marketing Manager, Wexner Medical Center
  • Davida Loren Haywood, PhD, Senior Executive Director, Student Life Multicultural Center
  • Robert S.D. Higgins, MD, Professor, Medicine
  • Nadine Holmes, Director of Student Recruitment, The Ohio State University Alumni Association
  • Arthur R. James, MD, Associate Professor, Medicine
  • Judson L. Jeffries, PhD, Professor, African American and African Studies
  • Creola Johnson, Professor, Moritz College of Law
  • Habiba Kamagate, Coordinator of Stewardship and Donor Relations, Student Life
  • Clark Kellogg, Member, Board of Trustees
  • Valerie B. Lee, Vice President for Outreach and Engagement/Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion
  • Gary Lewis Jr., Senior Director, Media Relations
  • William T. McDaniel, PhD, Professor and Area Head, Jazz Studies
  • Leon McDougle, MD, Associate Professor, Family Medicine/Chief Diversity Officer, Wexner Medical Center
  • Koritha Mitchell, PhD, Associate Professor, English
  • James L. Moore III, PhD, Associate Provost, Diversity and Inclusion/Director, Todd Anthony Bell National Resource Center on the African American Male
  • Justin Moses, JD, Director, Student Conduct
  • D'Andra Mull, PhD, Assistant Vice President, Student Life
  • Horace Newsum, PhD, Associate Professor and Chair, African American and African Studies
  • Kathy Northern, JD, Associate Dean, Moritz College of Law
  • Benedict C. Nwomeh, MD, Professor, Clinical Surgery
  • Elaine Richardson, PhD, Professor, Education and Human Ecology
  • Kim Shumate, JD, Associate Vice President, Human Resources
  • Gene Smith, Vice President/Director of Athletics
  • Terrell Lamont Strayhorn, PhD, Professor, Education and Human Ecology/Executive Director, Center for Higher Education Enterprise
  • Todd M. Suddeth, Program Director, Todd Anthony Bell National Resource Center on the African American Male
  • Eric J. Troy, Program Director, Outreach and Engagement/Student Life
  • Barbara Warren, PhD, Professor, Nursing/Director, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program
  • Miechelle Willis, Executive Associate Director of Athletics Student Services and Sports Administration
  • Willie Young, Senior Director, Student Life


Students honored in Who's Who

  • Khalid Bowens
  • Korrine Edwards
  • G'Kahlin Ford-Noble
  • Akeesha Giddings
  • Brooke C. Hardy
  • Charity Jackson
  • Shannon Jeffries
  • Devonte Johnson
  • Shayla Martin
  • Chyna Mitchell
  • Kah'lil Newton
  • ShaRayna Oree
  • L' Nard Tufts II
  • Alicia Williams