College Engagement Council

The College Engagement Council (CEC) was established in autumn 2015 and consists of representatives from all colleges and regional campuses. The CEC, similar in scope to the Academic Program Advisory Council (APAC) and the College Research Officers (CRO), was established following recommendations contained in the 2015 OAA Engagement Task Force Report.

Guided by the Task Force Report, the intent of the CEC is to foster a university-wide culture of engagement and collaboration. The CEC has already worked on a wide-range of initiatives including substantive input to the new university’s mission/vision document and feedback to the university’s strategic planning process.

Jacqueline Davis, clinical professor of Optometry, currently serving as the CEC chair, leads the council’s monthly meetings which take place after the Council of Deans regular meetings. Meetings follow an agenda developed with input from CEC members.

CEC efforts have centered around three task forces which informed the engagement-themed presentation at the April 2017 Board of Trustees meeting. The task forces are:

Mission/Vision Task Force (Darrell Gray, Chair)
Aligning with the new university mission/vision document and the University Strategic Planning process, the task force has developed an engagement mission/vision statement and a set of engagement principles for the university to advocate for and advance a shared vision for engagement and collaboration. A 2017-18 Engagement Plan has been developed which includes the 2018 Community Engagement Conference. 

Engagement Catalog Task Force (Pam Salsberry, Chair)
The task force is developing a pilot initiative to catalog community-university engagement programs with an online, searchable tool. The goal is to raise awareness of exemplary programs and help connect potential partners from inside and outside the university.

Scorecard Task Force (Mary Jo Burkhard, Chair)
Working with Institutional Research and Planning, the task force is developing university-wide engagement metrics which would be useful to colleges and units. First steps include discovering existing data that can be rolled up to a university-wide level as well as data needed but not currently collected. The ultimate goal is to create tools which would assist in engagement plan development and documenting impact.



College of Arts and Sciences

Anne Co, Associate Professor

Peter Hahn, Divisional Dean

Valarie Williams, Associate Dean

Fisher College of Business

Peter Ward, Senior Associate Dean

College of Dentistry

Canise Bean, Professor

College of Education and Human Ecology

Pat Bebo, Interim Assistant Director

College of Engineering

Donnie Perkins, Chief Diversity Officer/Assistant Dean

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

Ken Martin, Chair

Roger Rennekamp, Associate Dean/Director

Moritz College of Law

Kathy Northern, Associate Dean

College of Medicine

Darrell Gray, Assistant Professor

College of Nursing

Laureen Smith, Assoicate Professor

College of Optometry

Jacqueline Davis, Associate Professor

College of Pharmacy

Jennifer Rodis, Assistant Dean

Glenn College of Public Affairs

Trevor Brown, Dean

College of Public Health

Pam Salsberry, Associate Dean

College of Social Work

Lisa Durham, Assistant Dean

College of Veterinary Medicine

Mary Jo Burkhard, Associate Dean

Ohio State Lima

Joseph Brandesky, Interim Dean

Ohio State Mansfield

Norman Jones, Interim Dean

Ohio State Marion

Greg Rose, Dean

Ohio State Newark

Virginia Cope, Associate Dean