University Engagement Recognition Awards

Ohio State’s University Engagement Recognition Awards honor faculty, staff, students and community partners for outstanding achievement in meaningful partnerships that produce engaged scholarship and community impact. 

2019 awardees will be recognized at a ceremony on May 2 at 10 a.m. in the Ohio Union, U.S. Bank Conference Theater. The event is free and open to the public. RSVP requested at

Below you will find more detailed information about the awards for each category. A total of $20,500 will be awarded across all categories. 

Sponsoring units: Offices of International Affairs, Outreach and Engagement, Service-Learning, Student Life, and Undergraduate Education; and the Wexner Medical Center.

For more information, email

Click on the appropriate link below to submit an application/nomination for the 2019 University Engagement Recognition Awards (links open in new windows, links will be activated as the as the applications become finalized).

Recognition Awards Overview and Criteria

Below is a list of the annual University Engagement Recognition Award categories with criteria for each award:

Distinguished Community Engagement Award ($3,000)

Distinguished International Engagement Award ($3,000)

Distinguished Service-Learning Award ($3,000)

Wexner Medical Center Healthy Communities Award ($3,000)

Excellence in Community Partnership Award ($3,000)

Emerging Community Engagement Award ($1,000)

Emerging International Engagement Award ($1,000)

Emerging Service-Learning Award ($1,000)

Staff Award for Excellence in Community Engagement ($500)

Undergraduate Student Award for Excellence in Community Service ($500)

Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Community Service ($500)

Professional Student Award for Excellence in Community Service ($500)

Student Group Award for Excellence in Community Service Programming ($500)


National Award

The C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Scholarship Award is a national award that recognizes outstanding outreach and engagement partnerships between universities and community partners. It is presented by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) at the annual meeting in November. National award winners receive a cash prize of $20,000. See the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) web site for details on the award applications.

Ohio State's Young Scholars Program was selected as the 2013 C. Peter Magrath University Community Engagement Award winner (note the award name changed in 2015).

Regional Awards

The Engagement Scholarship Consortium recognizes regional winners of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Engagement Scholarship Awards at the Engagement Scholarship Consortium Conference every October. Regional winners receive $5,000 and are considered for the national award. Each university may submit one nominee for the regional award.

Ohio State's Young Scholars Program was selected as the 2013 North Central region winner.

Ohio State's Comprehensive Approach to Urban Revitalization was selected as the 2008 North Central Region Winner.

Ohio State’s Engaged Partners was selected as the 2007 North Central regional winner.

Past Award Recipients

2018 Awards

2017 Awards

2016 Awards

2015 Awards

2014 Awards

2013 Awards

2012 Awards

2011 Awards

2010 Awards

2009 Awards

2008 Awards

2007 Awards